MSU QIS workshop logo v2.jpg

Quantum Information Science Workshop at MSU

Though the disruptive potential of Quantum Information Science has been known for over 20 years, it has been in a nascent state with a number of academic, industrial and government groups striving to understand the basic physics, and to build and control many-qubit systems. Now we are approaching a tipping point where the realization of practical QIS systems is imminent. This workshop brings together a broad community of scientists working in the field to discuss the near future of QIS, including the physical implementations of quantum computers, the most interesting directions of QIS and the challenging fundamental and applied problems of quantum science that are posed by QIS as well as those where QIS may lead to breakthroughs addressing the fundamental challenges in building the next generation systems, and in utilizing these systems to develop applications.

We're looking forward to seeing you in East Lansing, please use the buttons below to register for the workshop:

Topics of Interest:

  • Architectures for digital quantum computing

  • Leading QC architectures: Josephson junction systems

  • Emerging architectures: Electrons on Helium; Semiconductor based systems

  • Promising new directions: Topological quantum computing; Photon based systems

  • Quantum communication, encryption, error correction

  • Controlling noise and improving fidelity

  • Architectures for analog quantum simulation

  • Quantum Algorithms for applied mathematics, computer science and engineering

  • Quantum Algorithms for quantum many body problems in physics, chemistry and materials research

circular cavity mode.png

Conference Chairs:

Norman Birge,

Phil Duxbury,

Mark Dykman,

Johannes POllanen

Advisory Committee:

cavity + qubit.png
  • Morten Hjorth-Jensen

  • Steve Hsu

  • Dean Lee

  • Jeff Schenker

  • John Verboncoeur

  • Angela Wilson

Confirmed Speakers:

  • Wolfgang Belzig (Konstanz, Germany)

  • Sue Coppersmith (University of Wisconsin Madison)

  • Michel Devoret (Yale)

  • David Dean (ORNL)

  • Mark Dykman (Michigan State University)

  • Gerald Gilbert (MITRE corporation)

  • Hayato Goto (Toshiba Japan)

  • Markus Graefe (Fraunhofer: Jena, Germany)

  • Sonika Johri (Intel)

  • Andrew Jordan (University of Rochester)

  • Kimitoshi Kono (National Chiao Tung Univ., Taiwan)

  • Alex Korotkov (UC Riverside)

  • Niels Loerch (Basel, Switzerland)

  • Roman Lutchyn (Microsoft)

  • Steve Lyon (Princeton University)

  • Ivar Martin (Argonne)

  • Jarrod R. McClean (Google)

  • Ramis Movassagh (IBM)

  • Kater Murch (Washington University St. Louis)

  • Thomas Papenbrock (University of Tennessee & ORNL)

  • Briton Plourde (Syracuse University)

  • Matthew Reagor (Rigetti Computing)

  • Danna Rosenberg (MIT Lincoln Lab)

  • Martin Savage (University of Washington Seattle)

  • Vadim Smelyanskiy (Google)